Julia Burke Award

The Julia Burke Award recognizes the American Debate Association debater who most closely upholds the combination of characteristics that Julia Burke displayed in her love for the activity. These qualities include excellence in and passion for debate, a commitment to helping others, love and respect for the American Debate Association debate community and dedication to maintaining friendships despite the pressures of competition. To learn more about Julia and her legacy – please visit the Julia Burke Foundation.

Executive Director of the Julia Burke Foundation

Joy Johnson

Julia Burke Award Committee

Patrick Waldinger, University of Miami (Chair)

Danielle Verney, US Naval Academy (Past Chair)

Adrienne Brovero, University of Mary Washington

Michael Hall, Liberty University

John Katsulas, Boston College

Recipients of the Julia Burke Award

2002     Elizabeth Wiley, John Carroll University

2003     Andrew Barnes, Clarion University

2004     Carly Woods, University of Mary Washington

2006     Shawntia Diggs, Towson University

2007     Matthew Scorcio, U.S. Naval Academy

2008     Mary Mosley, James Madison University

2009     Sean Lowry, James Madison University

2010     Cameron Norris, Vanderbilt University

2011     Ben Saunders, University of Mary Washington

2012     Brendan Benedict, Boston College

2013     David Michael Woodard, George Mason University

2014     Tom Pacheco, University of Mary Washington

2015     Mariah Young, University of Mary Washington

2016     Young Kwon, George Mason University

2017     Rohit Asirvatham, University of Minnesota

2018     Ned Gidley, Wake Forest University

2019     Alex Gazmararian, Emory University

2020    Julia Lynch, University of Miami

2021     Thomas Vance, University of Michigan

2022    Kathleen Rock, U.S. Naval Academy